Home » Blogger Challenge » Outside Whose Norm, Exactly?

Outside Whose Norm, Exactly?

I spotted this challenge in Plurk and first it made me cheer, then it made me confused.

“I was thinking that it would be a fun challenge for you to do something out of the norm for a day. Do something that is uncharacteristically you! Try sci-fi, steampunk, grunge, burlesque, etc. Step outside your comfort zone and show us what you can do!” – Adorkable Peapod

I’m all for seeing everyone doing sci-fi and steampunk and burlesque and and… waitaminute, I blog those things all the time! Obviously I can’t do those for this challenge if it’s what I mostly do. So, after  a moment of pondering I realized I will have to blog casuals. Not just Sonya’s usual hang-out clothes which are sort of… near-vintage with a dash of couture, but like… jeans, tee-shirts, hoodies, shoes without heels! End of the world as we know it!

To complete the opposite factor, I took the pictures in a studio instead of in the world. Without props. I had to do -something- besides just stand there, though, so I played with projectors for fun extra shadows! I couldn’t bring myself to spend lindens for this, but fortunately I’m half-hamster and I had enough stuff in my inventory. I had to try and add something of my own taste into it, so tadah: bunny and coffee!

Most of the things are either not available anymore or old hunt gifts, but do take note of the skin. It’s the latest group gift by Mynerva, and it’s absolutely adorable. (I felt like I was borging Ely, though. Clone all the friends!) The format of the lower picture is one of my favourite versions to -read- when I’m browsing fashion blogs. I blog for the joy of character creation and the challenge of story-and-mood-expressing pictures myself, but for the actual shopping ‘lookit-awesome-new-things-on-grid’ blogs this is awesome. Shows the details. My most favourite version is of course the pictures that blur the line between screenshot and art and promise a story, but if we all blogged the same way, the feeds would be very dull. Hurray for personality differences!

After this challenge I can really tip my invisible hat to all those people who shoot in studio and still make pictures interesting. It’s truly a challenge!

 

Skin: ~Mynerva~Group Gift~Sara Pure | Eyes: Poetic Colors – classic – frozen silver (m) bright | Make-up: M.O.C.K. Cosmetics – Shadow Brown Winterberry 1 [eyeshadow only] | Hair: Dark Mouse – Sydney/Red4 | Hoodie: Acid & Mala – Bunny Hoodie | Jeans: Ducknipple – Faded Blue | Boots: COCO Designs – Flat Ankle Boots Black | Ring: .( bewildebeest ). – Good Morning! Ring | Bag: Sweet Leonard & Needful Things – Lonely Bird Bag | Poses: Croire – Shy Geek 1 | Glitterati – Long Hair 3-9

One thought on “Outside Whose Norm, Exactly?

Leave a Reply

